50th Anniversary Reception at Government House

On 10 February, a special gathering at Government House honoured the first ever South Australian Churchill Fellows.

CFASA President, Graeme Adcock introduced the Fellows (or, in the case of deceased, thier relatives or representatives) to the Governor, for the presentation of a commemorative medallion.

David Binks, OAM

At 28-year old, the youngest of the group, David Binks was awarded his Fellowship to study yacht design and building. Obviously a high achiever, he had previously built yachts that had won international championships, and owned his own business. David is perhaps most famous amongst Churchillians for bringing home a wife from his Fellowship, but his continued service in the industry he loves and the leadership he has provided over 5 decades is testament to the wisdom of that first selection panel. David is also about to have a biography on his life published.

Lois Loffler

Lois Loffler (nee Wilksch) (deceased) was an inspirational teacher, who was the headmistress of the Thebarton Infant Demonstration School when awarded her Fellowship. She had a special interest in understanding children’s communication with each other so that teachers could understand how best to teach all children, including those from different cultural backgrounds. She was dedicated to sharing her learning with student teachers and she provided exemplary leadership in the area of pre-school education. Also, in her commitment to the Churchill Fellowship Lois volunteered for 8 years on the SA Churchill Fellowships selection committee. 

Dr Maurice Sando, OBE

Dr Maurice Sando (deceased) was a gifted clinician, whose Fellowship findings provided direction for the Royal Adelaide Hospital to develop intensive care options. He had a clear vision for the development of anaesthetics and intensive care which he pursued throughout his career. In 1986 his influence in the medical field was recognised through the naming of the Chair of anaesthetics the Maurice Sando Chair of Anaesthetics and Intensive Care.  

Margaret Sinclair

At 47, Margaret Sinclair (deceased) was the oldest of the inaugural awardees. A sculptor specialising in bronze-casting, she spent time working in a foundry in Milan, learning about the lost wax casting method. Upon her return, she continued her practice, and also shared what she had learned with other practitioners and art students. She has left a significant body of work for us to all enjoy. 

Reverand Father Edward Mulvihill OBE

Father Mulvihill (deceased) retired as the Director of Catholic Education in South Australia after a professional career as an educator. He was awarded his Fellowship to broaden his experience of educational administration and research. He is generally known as the pioneer of modern catholic education in South Australia. He was the founder of the ‘school board’ in Australia. He placed an enormous emphasis on the professional development of teachers and teacher support as well as introducing more ‘laity’ in to the catholic teaching ranks. 

Ian Tolley, OAM

Ian Tolley, a horticulturalist, had an interest in bud selection as a science and was already influential in the citrus industry as Chairman of the Renmark Bud selection society when he was selected to travel to the East and the USA to further his knowledge of citriculture. Post Fellowship Ian has continued to be an international source of knowledge and inspiration in the citrus industry. Affectionately known in the industry as Mr Citrus, Ian is about to publish another book – Common Sense Citrus.